Subscribe for 17¢ / day

The Prairie School boys basketball team, which won the Metro Classic Conference and got within one game of a WIAA State Tournament berth, has been rewarded for its success.

The Hawks, led by MCC Player of the Year JC Butler, had three selections on the All-MCC first and second teams.

Butler, a senior wing, led the MCC in scoring at 26.6 points per game. He is joined on the first team by Racine County players Troy Mikaelian, a Prairie senior guard, and Quinn Cafferty, a St. Catherine’s junior center.

Other first-team members were Ace Evans and Xzavier Jones of Greendale Martin Luther, and Gacoby Jones of Whitefish Bay Dominican.

Four county players earned second-team honors — Catholic Central senior guard Frank Koehnke, Prairie senior guard Logan Krekling, Racine Lutheran senior guard Ryan Hoover and St. Catherine’s junior guard Azarien Stephens.

Prairie finished 15-1 in conference play, St. Catherine’s was third at 12-4, Lutheran was sixth at 5-11 and Catholic Central was ninth at 2-14.

ALL-MCC GIRLS: Racine Lutheran had one player each on the All-Metro Classic Conference girls first and second teams.

Sophomore guard Caroline Strande, who led the MCC in rebounding with 10.8 per game and was second in scoring (23.1), earned first-team honors.

Making the second team was freshman forward Morgann Gardner.

The MCC Player of the Year was Chelby Koker of Shoreland Lutheran, a Racine resident. She led the MCC in scoring and was third in the state in scoring, averaging 30.3 points per game.


Load comments