Brewers Cubs Baseball

Milwaukee second baseman Keston Hiura, right, forces out the Chicago Cubs' Kyle Schwarber, left, at second base during the Cubs' 6-2 win on Aug. 2 at Chicago. The Brewers will host the Cubs to start the 2020 season.

NEW YORK — Major League Baseball will open its 2020 season March 26, its earliest start other than international games. The schedule also features a late April series in Puerto Rico between the New York Mets and Miami Marlins.

The Milwaukee Brewers will open the season at home against NL Central Division rival Chicago Cubs on March 26.

Globe Life Field, the new home of the Texas Rangers, opens March 31. This is the first new ballpark since the Atlanta Braves’ SunTrust Park opened in 2017. Globe Life will be the seventh big league stadium with a retractable roof after those in Toronto, Phoenix, Seattle, Houston, Milwaukee and Miami. Tampa Bay has a fixed roof.

The commissioner’s office also said Monday all 30 teams could play on opening day for the first time since 1968. A full slate was scheduled in 2018 but two games were postponed. The 2020 regular season is to end Sept. 27, putting the World Series on track for Oct. 20-28.

Pete Alonso h/s


After playing the Cubs, the Brewers welcome Pete Alonso and the New York Mets, followed by Bryce Harper and the Philadelphia Phillies for back-to-back four-game series from April 9-16 – eight games in eight days.

Bryce Harper Phillies h/s


After playing the Brewers in Milwaukee, the Cubs will plays the St. Louis Cardinals at Wrigley Field from April 10-12. The Red Sox, who last played in Wrigley in 2012, will play three games in Chicago from June 19-21.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

You're out of free articles
Sign in or create a FREE account to keep reading.

The White Sox open against Kansas City Royals on March 26. Also, for the first time in more than a decade, the Colorado Rockies will pay a visit to the south side from May 19-20.

The White Sox also will host three big series later in the season, facing the Cubs from July 7-8, the Yankees in the “MLB at Field of Dreams” game on Thursday, Aug. 13, and the Dodgers from Sept. 8-10.

The Field of Dreams game will make history as the first Major League game played in Iowa.

The Angels host the Dodgers on July 10-11 heading into the All-Star Game at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles on July 14 — giving both teams a rare Sunday day off on July 12.

Previously announced, the Cubs and Cardinals will play two games in London in June. A Little League Classic between the Red Sox and Orioles is set for Aug. 23 Field in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

The rest of the American League opening-day games are: New York Yankees at Baltimore, Detroit at Cleveland, the Los Angeles Angels at Houston, Minnesota at Oakland, Texas at Seattle, Boston at Toronto.

In the National League, it’s: Atlanta at Arizona, St. Louis at Cincinnati, San Francisco at the Los Angeles Dodgers, Philadelphia at Miami, Washington at the New York Mets and Colorado at San Diego,

The one interleague matchup has Pittsburgh at Tampa Bay.

Get Breaking News delivered directly to you.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments