Subscribe for 17¢ / day

BURLINGTON — Burlington High School Drama is scheduled to present its spring play, “The Awesome ‘80s Prom,” on Friday, May 18, and Saturday, May 19, in the Burlington High School Auditorium, 400 McCanna Parkway.

Pre-Prom festivities begin at 6 p.m. with ‘80s music and dancing in the BHS Commons, with the play starting at 7 p.m.

Go back in time to enjoy the Class of 1989’s prom, when the theme was “Hollywood Night,” the faculty chaperoned, and students competed to reign as prom king and queen. Characters include the power couple, the football jocks, the nerds, the foreign exchange student, and more. Ultimately, the audience will vote to decide who is crowned as prom royalty.

“The Awesome ‘80s Prom,” says everything in the title. It’s a throwback to the 1980s and a nod to ‘Brat Pack’ movie director John Hughes, bringing every one of his characters to life,” said Robert Thompson, the director of this production. “What’s most exciting about this play is that no two audience members will see the same show.”

“This is one of the largest spring play groups, with 63 student in the cast, crew, and band,” said Carrie Fidler, who assists with BHS Drama.

Tickets cost $5 and are available online at Contact Robert Thompson at for more information.

Thompson advises, “Grab your flashy dress, parachute pants, and tease your mullet — this is going to be a wild ride!”

Cast Of Characters:

Blake Williams: Eli Trapp

Michael Jay: Gabe King

Louis Fensterspock: Zach Schmidt

Feung Schwey: Hannah Viol

Nick Fender: Josh Piasecki

Whitley Whitiker: Brooke Chilcoat

Kerrie Kowalski: Jessica Smith

Melissa Ann “Missy” Martin: Maddie Morrell

Ingvald Swanson: Viktor A dalsteinsson

Dickie Harrington: Tommy Burinda

Mr. Richard Snelgrove: Andrew Lovrine

Mrs. Patty Lescalso: Claire Turke

Heather #1: Bella Gatterer

Heather #2: Sam Henngan

Heather #3: Aislynn Lasik

Joshua “Beef” Beefarowski: Sam Jorudd

Johnny Hughes: Connor Torpy

Lloyd Parker: Bryar Stenzel

Molly Parker: A nnathea B renneman

Mystery Guests: The Bangles (Quinn Turke, Gracie Bunker, Erin Torpy and Mack Booth)

“The Plant,” a Breakdancer: Rose Pinter

Pee Wee: Ben Laskowski

Prom Favor Chairman: Jacey Pope

Royalty Voting Chairman: TBD

Prom Tickets Chairman: Dori O’Sullivan

Refreshments Chairman: Deirdre O’Sullivan

Keister High Students: Bearnard Baldowsky, Abigail Boettcher, Charley Bunker, Josiah Callahan, Matilda Crist, Mady Fox, Maddie Ivkovich, Alexis Lopez, Stacy Machuca, Jordan Rizzo, Alex Robers, Adrianna Rodriguez, Aiden Thorn and Chloe Veenstra.

Awesome ‘80s Cover Band:

Guitar: Will Bingen

Bass: Alex Robers , Zach Schmidt

Drumset: Eli Eastridge

Keyboard: Maddie Ivkovich and Carrie Fidler

Saxophones: Sophie Allen, Jennifer Flores, Nallely Flores Garcia, Derek Kretschmer

Trumpets: Daniel Needham, Michael Needham, Bearnard Baldowsky, Gabe King, Oswaldo Jimenez, Anthony Simonelli

Awesome ‘80s Crew:

Raquel Gomez, Matthew Gregoric, Josiah Hilden, Jonathan Morrell, Daniel Needham, Michael Needham, Nathan Pack, Claire Reynolds, Connor Schmaling, Chloee Wheaton and Ayla Worske.


Assistant Managing Editor

Pete Wicklund is the local editor for The Journal Times.

Load comments