BURLINGTON — The city plans to honor the cast and crew of two high school musicals that recently won coveted Jerry Awards, with a parade and program on Friday.

Burlington High School’s production of “Little Shop of Horrors” was named outstanding musical in the 2019 Jerry Awards, which were announced in late May.

The Jerry Awards encourage, recognize and honor excellence in high school musical theater.

Several individuals involved with BHS’s production, as well as several involved with Catholic Central High School’s production of “Disney’s Newsies” also received Jerry Awards.

The parade is set to depart at 6 p.m. Friday from the Menards/Lynch GM Superstore parking lot. It will head southwest on Milwaukee Avenue to Pine Street; it is to turn south onto Pine Street and then turn east onto Adams Street; from there the parade will cross over the Fox River Bridge and then head east onto State Street before turning south onto McCanna Parkway, which leads to the BHS campus. The program is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. in the BHS auditorium, 400 McCanna Parkway.

“I’m grateful that the city and community recognize that hard work and talent comes in many forms,” said Troy Everson, co-director for the BHS production of “Little Shop of Horrors.”

Everson, a science teacher at BHS, has been working with the school’s theater program for the past 24 years, 17 of them alongside co-director Beth Reetz.

Overture Center for the Arts, in Madison, has presented Jerry Awards for high school musical productions in Wisconsin for the past 10 years. Educators and industry professionals review productions at more than 90 high schools in 30 counties throughout the state, providing valuable feedback in the process. The program is intended to elevate the importance of musical theater within high schools.

The Jerry Awards are named in honor of philanthropist and arts supporter W. Jerome Frautschi.

“We’re thrilled to announce a record 400 award recipients this year within the 98 productions around the state in 92 communities of varying sizes and theater programs with varying budgets,” stated Tim Sauers, Overture’s vice president of programming and community engagement, in a press release.

BHS Jerry Awards

Outstanding musical: “Little Shop of Horrors”

Troy Everson, direction;

Beth Reetz, direction and music direction;

Penny Yanke, musical direction;

Peggy Morgan Strimple, choreography;

Chloee Wheaton, stage management;

Annathea Brenneman, stage management;

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

You're out of free articles
Sign in or create a FREE account to keep reading.

Jeremy Fitch, scenic design;

Frank Korb, scenic design;

Jennie King, costume design;

Michelle Morrell, costume design;

Logan Bydalek, lighting design; and

Rod Stoughton, sound design.

Outstanding leading performance: Jo Fox as Seymour

Outstanding supporting performance: Hannah Beyer, as Audrey II.

Spirit award: Ryan Stankus.

CCHS honors

Outstanding direction: Abby Galstad.

Outstanding stage management: Miriam Ward.

Outstanding lead performance: Sarah Naber, as Katherine Plumber.

Outstanding youth performance: Gary Mann, as Les Jacobs.

Spirit award: Simon Pedone.

Outstanding scenic design: Steve Wagner.

Outstanding costume design: Marie Frederick, Karen Melton and Lisa Wagner.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.


Caitlin Sievers covers cops, crime and the west-end communities. She's a lover of cats, dance and Harry Potter. Before moving to the Racine area she worked at small papers in Indiana, Illinois and Nebraska.

Load comments