"Malcolm in the Middle" and "Gilmore Girls" took home two awards each from the coalition of businesses dedicated to family-friendly programming. The shows' respective leading ladies (Jane Kaczmarek, Lauren Graham) tied in the Actress category.

While it's not hard to see the family values in sweet-hearted series like "Ed," whose Tom Cavanaugh took home the Actor honor, "Survivor" - with its backstabbing and pig-slaying - is a little harder to explain. Nevertheless, the top-rated series was honored for Reality Programming, and winner Tina Wesson will make an appearance in the broadcast of the ceremony.

Hosted by country star Clint Black, the "Family Television Awards" airs Aug. 10 at 8 p.m. ET on CBS.

The complete winners are:

Lifetime Achievement Award: "Hallmark Hall Of Fame" (CBS)

Movies /Miniseries /Specials: "The Miracle Worker" (ABC)

New Series: "Gilmore Girls" (The WB)

Reality Programming: "Survivor" (CBS)

Comedy: "Malcolm in the Middle" (Fox)

Drama: "The West Wing" (NBC)

Actress: Lauren Graham ("Gilmore Girls"); Jane Kaczmarek ("Malcolm in the Middle")

Actor: Tom Cavanaugh ("Ed," NBC)

(c) 2001, Zap2it.com.

Visit Zap2it.com at http: / /www.zap2it.com

Distributed by Knight Ridder /Tribune Information Services.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments