UW Jonathan Taylor vs Minnesota

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor runs for a first down against Minnesota during the Badgers' 31-0 win at TCF Bank Stadium in Minneapolis on Nov. 25. Taylor was named AP Big Ten Newcomer of the Year on Wednesday.

The University of Wisconsin took home two of the four major Big Ten Awards handed out by the Associated Press on Wednesday.

Paul Chryst won another Big Ten Coach of the Year after earning the honor from both the conference’s coaches and media last week. He’s compiled a 33-7 record at UW and won two Big Ten West titles in three years.

True freshman running back Jonathan Taylor was named the conference’s Newcomer of the Year after rushing for 1,847 yards and 13 touchdowns on 273 carries this season. His yardage total ranked third nationally.

Taylor also became one of 11 Badgers to earn All-Big Ten honors by the AP, including seven first-team selections.

The other first-team selections were left tackle Michael Deiter, right guard Beau Benzschawel, tight end Troy Fumagalli, linebacker T.J. Edwards, cornerback Nick Nelson and safety D’Cota Dixon.

Deiter and Benzschawel, both three-year starters, started all 13 games this season and helped pave the way for Taylor’s breakout year. Fumagalli caught 43 passes for 516 yards and four touchdowns.

Edwards, a junior who could opt to leave UW early for the NFL, recorded 75 tackles, 11 for loss, two sacks, four interceptions and one touchdown. Nelson broke a school record with 20 pass breakups, while Dixon ranks fourth on the team with 52 tackles despite being limited for much of the second half of the season.

Second-team AP All-Big Ten selections include right tackle David Edwards, defensive end Conor Sheehy, linebacker Garret Dooley and kicker Rafael Gaglianone.

Dooley tied with Michigan’s Khaleke Hudson for the final linebacker spot on the second team.

Penn State’s Saquon Barkley was voted the offensive player of the year for the second straight season and Iowa linebacker Josey Jewell was named defensive player of the year.

Conference champion Ohio State and Wisconsin each had seven players on the first team.

Barkley held down two spots, as a running back and all-purpose player. He has rushed for more than 100 yards in four games, including a 211-yard night against Iowa, and caught 47 passes for 594 yards and three TDs. He leads the Big Ten in kick returns, averaging 28.4 yards and running two back for touchdowns.

Jewell, a second-team pick last year, averages a Big Ten-leading 11.4 tackles. He has 13.5 tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks, two interceptions and 11 pass breakups.

Iowa cornerback Josh Jackson, the national co-leader with seven interceptions, was the only unanimous first-team pick.

Quarterback J.T. Barrett, center Billy Price and defensive end Tyquan Lewis — all of Ohio State — and Barkley are repeat first-team selections. Price made the team as a guard last year.

Indiana kicker Griffin Oakes is first-team kicker for the second time in three years. Oakes was not on the first or second team last year.

The All-Big Ten team was selected by 25 writers and broadcasters who cover the conference.


Waunakee quarterback Nate Carter committed to the University of Wisconsin as a preferred walk-on.

The 6-foot-5, 195-pound Carter is rated as a two-star prospect by 247sports and will join the Badgers’ 2018 recruiting class. He led Waunakee to a WIAA Division 2 state title this season.

Jason Galloway is a reporter for the Wisconsin State Journal in Madison.


Sports Reporter

Load comments