25 percent county turnout

2013-04-03T16:36:00Z 2013-12-18T13:07:09Z 25 percent county turnoutLINDSAY FIORI lindsay.fiori@journaltimes.com Journal Times

RACINE COUNTY — Voter turnout across the county was about 25 percent in Tuesday’s election.

Of 121,759 registered Racine County voters, 30,812 cast ballots, unofficial results show.

The City of Racine had the lowest turnout of any Racine County municipality, with 19.3 percent, according to registered voter counts from Racine City Clerk/Treasurer Janice Johnson-Martin and unofficial results from the Racine County Clerk’s Office.

North Bay had the highest turnout, at 43.6 percent, according to the Racine County Clerk’s Office.

Meanwhile, turnout statewide, calculated by looking at eligible voters and ballots cast, was 19.3 percent, according to unofficial counts from the Wisconsin Government Accountability Board.

Election results will remain unofficial until Tuesday when the Racine County Board of Canvassers certifies them.

Unofficial results for various contested races with all precincts reporting are below.

- Gateway referendum

In all three voting counties (Racine, Kenosha and Walworth)

No: 35,928

Yes: 23,847

In Racine County

No: 17,097

Yes: 9,323

In the City of Racine

No: 4,883

Yes: 2,606

- Racine Unified School Board (three seats)

Michael Frontier: 9,314

Incumbent Julie McKenna: 9,035

Incumbent Christopher Eperjesy: 8,428

Robert Wittke Jr.: 6,817

Roger Pfost: 5,615

Kristie Formolo: 5,237

- Burlington Area School Board (two seats)

Incumbent Larry Anderson: 2,684

Jim Bousman: 2,503

Julie Koldeway: 2,154

Norma Miller: 1,957

- Caledonia village president

Bob Bradley: 2,648

Incumbent Ron Coutts: 1,804

- Caledonia Village Board seat No. 1

David Prott: 2,402

Ed Willing: 1,711

- Caledonia Village Board seat No. 3

Incumbent Kevin Wanggaard: 2,851

Mauren Cramer: 1,755

- Caledonia Village Board seat No. 5

Jim Dobbs: 2,304

Richard Frazier: 1,746

- Mount Pleasant village president

Mark Gleason: 2,564

Karen Albeck: 1,957

- Mount Pleasant Village Board trustee (three seats)

David DeGroot: 2,789

Incumbent John Hewitt: 2,044

Incumbent Sonny Havn: 1,997

Ron Molnar: 1,888

Steve Herek: 1,193

Chuck Haakma: 1,160

- Dover Town Board chairman

Incumbent Thomas Lembcke: 345

Mario Lena: 206

- Dover Town Board supervisor No. 1

Incumbent Mike Shenkenberg: 421

Deborah Krogh: 338

- Dover Town Board supervisor No. 2

Sam Stratton: 490

Larry Neau: 276

CLARIFICATION: This article used different methodologies to calculate voter turnout at the local and state level. Turnout in Racine County municipalities was calculated by The Journal Times using the number of registered voters and the number of actual ballots cast. Turnout statewide was calculated by the Government Accountability Board using the number of eligible voters and the number of actual ballots cast. The story has been updated to show the methodologies.



Copyright 2015 Journal Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Featured Racine-area Businesses

Casey Family Options - Mt. Pleasant, WI

Casey Family Options - Mt. Pleasant, WI

The staff of Casey Family Options has 53 years of funeral service experience by serving Wisc…

Business Offer

Lifetime Door - Brookfield, WI

Lifetime Door - Brookfield, WI

As Wisconsin's largest Liftmaster and Haas garage door dealer, we're proud to offer:• Reside…

Business Offer

Miller-Reesman Funeral Home

Miller-Reesman Funeral Home

Miller-Reesman Funeral Home and Cremation Service provides full-service burial and cremation…

Business Offer


See more polls

Should mandatory minimum sentences be reformed for non-violent drug offenders to reduce the amount of time they spend behind bars?

View Results