"Sparkling Personality Pea(P)cock"

"Sparkling Personality Pea(P)cock" was made by Kristina Tsioutsiopoulos. It received the Mayor of Racine's Award in the Adult Category.

RACINE — Racine Art Museum, 441 Main St., presents a nontraditional exhibition showcasing fluffy, sugar-coated marshmallow Peeps with the "RAM 9th Annual International Peeps Art Exhibition" through April 8.

The exhibit features 126 entries that demonstrate the talent of more than 174 artists from across the country.

This spring, visitors to the show will discover artwork made with a variety of media. While the iconic seasonal candies are still the most common material, many of this year’s works are two-dimensional paintings and works on paper, as well as innovative 3D sculptures.

Inspired by inventive puns, pop culture, sports and famous artists, the show includes pieces like "Funky Peepcock," fashioned in sparkling glass beads and feathers; "Pop Art Peeps," crafted in glazed stoneware; and "Sweet Meets Wild," an inlaid box made of different hardwoods.

Thirty-two quilt block entries also adorn the walls, including one entitled "Radiant Peep" from Rancho Mirage, Calif. Many of the Peeps art entries are by local artists, families and organizations, with several arriving from as far away as Pisgah Forest, N.C., and Tucson, Ariz.

During the artist reception and awards ceremony on March 21, Bruce W. Pepich, RAM executive director and curator of collections, hosted the awards presentation to honor the most accomplished artists in the competition. Winners are:

  • Adult Category — Xanthi Merlo, "Sweet Meets Wild," first place; Nick Schroeder, "Pop Art Peeps," second, and Bill Reid, "aRAMatherapeep," third; Debby Peck, "Cleopeeptra," honorable mention, and Jeffrey Zimmer, "Blue and Yellow Stairs," honorable mention.
  • Under 13 Category — Autumn Madsen, "Peeps Wars," first place, and Brea Stanley, "Unipeep," second.
  • Family/Group/Organization Category — Sylvie Leach and Amy Witteman, "The Peepxistence of Memory," first place; Monica and Ian Leonard, "Peep in a Jeep," second; Holly and Mike Skubal, "Le Petit Peep," honorable mention, and Laura and Steve Grayson, "Peeps Swap à la Joseph Cornell," honorable mention.
  • Mayor of Racine's Awards — Adult Category, Kristina Tsioutsiopoulos, "Sparkling Personality Pea(P)cock"; Under 13 Category, Quinn Weisser, "Peepsconsin."
  • Downtown Racine Development Award — Karen Chartrand, "In a World of Peep Imagination."
  • Racine Quilters Awards — First Peep, in Memory of Margaret V. Wargo – Kiera Langworthy, "Peeperella" (in memory of Margaret V. Wargo), first place; Lisa L. KC, "Sailing to Peeps Island," second; Wanda Barbour, "Hollywood Peeps," third; Laurie Mayer, "Peep Show," honorable mention, and Judy Martin, "Peeps Heaven," honorable mention.

Visitors to the museum are encouraged to vote for their favorite Peeps work of art to decide who will take home the coveted PEEPles Choice Award. Voting continues through April 8.

ARTISTS IN THE EXHIBITION Arizona: Suzannah Schreckhise, Fayetteville. California: Robert Tucker, Rancho Mirage. Illinois: Beach Park: Patty Garrett; Chicago: Wallace Bowling, Christie's Chicago - Paula Kowalczyk, Steve Zick, Cathy Busch, Briar Koehl, Shalenie Sanker, Ash Liu, and Julia Zanussi, Ashly McCord; Evanston: Marilyn Lucas; Gurnee: Pat Tennerman; Naperville: Rebecca Nyman; Winthrop Harbor: Diane Clark, Liz Spannraft; Michigan: Sue Dannenberg, Waterford; North Carolina: Carol Preston, Pisgah Forest; Wisconsin: Burlington: Kara, Mia, and Maggie Lakatos; Caledonia: Veronica J. Gagliano, Nicki Zimmer; Colgate: Alexandros Tsioutsiopoulos, Dionisios Tsioutsiopoulos, Kristina Tsioutsiopoulos, Konstantina Tsioutsiopoulos; Edgerton: Kelly Hausknecht; Franklin: Karen Fairbanks; Franksville: Sandy Gibbs, Josiah, Lilly, and Sally Lamberton, Autumn Madsen; Carolyn Siler, Jeanne and Anik Zuleta; Germantown: Ian and Monica Leonard; Greendale: Michele Dambeck; Greenfield: Teri Kroll, Laurie Mayer, Glenn, Maria, and Leena Meyers; Hartland: Debby Peck; Kenosha: Wanda Barbour, Lucille Iacullo, Alma Lindl, Pam Schmidt, Joan Soens, Chelsea Van Aken, Mary Ann Welker, Patricia Young; Milwaukee: Cookie Anderson, Benjamin Franklin School, Jolie Collins, Deb Dakich, Kate Fons, Grace Hopkins, Bridget King, Jayden Kirk, Korinthia Klein, Kiera Langworthy, Emanuel Lopez, Sarah A. Phillips, Nick Schroeder, Coco Tsioutsiopoulos, Dimitrios Tsioutsiopoulos, Kiefer Waterman, Aden Weisser, Quinn Weisser; Mount Pleasant: Ann Richards, Connie Brandt, Sue Buhler-Maki, Karen Chartrand, Ann Gedemer, Adele Helmle, Diane Kamm, Catherine Rolfson; Muskego: Adria Day, Chris Proeber, Emily Proeber, Lynn Proeber, Parker Septon; Pewaukee: Holly and Mike Skubal; Pleasant Prairie: Rosy Shea; Port Washington: Joya Locklair, Tessa Locklair; Racine: Kate Alphs, Jayda Burger, Kathy Collins, Crossroads, Pam DeGroot, Tom, Jenni, Abbie, and Morgan Determan; Julia Donaldon; Emma Donaldson, Sophia Dougherty, Natalie, Gabriella, Aubrey and Grandma Linda Deschler, Chris Fabio, Gavin Fox, Gracie Friesema, Laura and Steve Grayson, Diane and Delaney Hansen, Linus and April Hansen, JoAnn Haselhuhn, Ann Henkes, Janice Henshaw, Colton Hiphe, Lillian Holland, Lisa L. KC, Destiny Klinkhammer, Cheryl Langel, Laura Lehman, Sam Locklair, Judy Martin, Xanthi Merlo, Judi Moore, Sharon Nyman, Holly Ottum, Amanda Cosgrove Paffrath, Wolfgang Peepzart, Amanda Peterson, Racine Friendship Clubhouse, Jil Radtke, Patricia Reed, Bill Reid, Alyssa Roberson, Patty Roberson, Donna and Jeff Robinson, Linda Ronczka, Seventh Graders at St. John's Racine Lutheran School, Kathy Simon, Cole Stehling, Sydney Stehling, Sarah Strande, Carol Sze, Evan, Nathaniel, and Pam Vallejos, Shari Wallin, Ashlyn Wasik, Pat Widmaier, Marc Wollman, Jeffrey Zimmer; Saint Francis: Brian and Mae Timmerman; South Milwaukee: Kennadie Vallee; Sturtevant: Vanessa Chuchara; Union Grove: Brea Stanley; Watertown: Lori Kolosowsky, Nina Slowik; Wauwatosa: Laura Leach, Sylvie Leach, Brodie Spolar, Lee Spolar, Jeff Ternes, Amy Witteman; West Allis: Finn McShane, Mark McShane.

The Racine Art Museum is open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday and noon to 5 p.m. Sunday (closed April 1). Admission is $7 for adults, and $5 for youth ages 12-18, full-time students and seniors 62 and older. There is no charge for children ages 11 and younger.


Load comments